Our ministers and governance

As a Crown entity, our governance and management are separate. Governance responsibilities are overseen by a board with the chairman reporting to ministers.

On this page:

Our ministers

Maritime New Zealand (MNZ) comes under the Government’s transport portfolio.

The Minister of Transport is Hon Phil Twyford.

The Associate Ministers of Transport are Hon Shane Jones and Hon Julie Anne Genter. The Acting Associate Minister of Transport is Hon James Shaw.

Learn more about our ministers

As we are a Crown entity, Hon Phil Twyford’s primary relationship is with our Board (usually the Board Chair) rather than our Director.

Briefing to the incoming Associate Minister 2017[PDF: 2MB, 28 pages]

Our governance board

We are governed by a five-member board, appointed by the Minister of Transport under the Maritime Transport Act 1994.

Our Board determines the overall organisation’ strategy and appoints our Director – who is responsible for managing the day-to-day operations.

Jo Brosnahan
Jo Brosnahan QSO
Maritime New Zealand © 2019

Chair, Jo Brosnahan QSO

Jo is an experienced Chair and Board Director and is involved in governance and leadership development. She is Chair of Northpower Fibre, on the Auckland Museum board and Principal of Leaders for the Future. She is founding Chair of the Taitokerau Education Trust and was Founder and Chair of Leadership New Zealand. She was Chair of Landcare Research, a director of Housing NZ and has had an extensive governance career.

She was previously CEO of the Northland Regional Council and of the Auckland Regional Council, with experience in the port and maritime sectors, infrastructure, transport, education and environmental management. She is a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Directors and of the Institute of Logistics and Transport. Jo was a Harkness Fellow at Duke University in the US, researching leadership.

Jo was appointed to the Maritime NZ Authority in July 2018 and was appointed Chair in December 2018.

picture of a man
Roy Weaver
Maritime New Zealand © 2019

Roy Weaver

Roy brings to the Board table over 20 years of experience. During his 18 years as Chief Executive, first of Port of Timaru and then of Port Taranaki, he chaired the Boards of a number of industry-related organisations as well as the New Zealand Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport.

Now a Chartered Director, Roy’s expertise extends to governance, commerce, strategy, business development, leadership, health and safety, infrastructure, energy, transport and logistics, ports and shipping, contracts, Iwi liaison, industrial relations and public relations.

Roy was appointed by the NZ port company CEO Forum as a representative for developing and implementing the New Zealand Port and Harbour Safety Code (2003 – 04). This was later extended to include the review of the Code and port company compliance (2013 – 2015).

Roy was also part of the Port and Harbour Marine Safety Management Code review team that assessed the port Safety Management System (SMS) for Lyttelton and Timaru Ports in 2015.

Roy was appointed to the Maritime NZ Authority in February 2019.

Belinda Vernon
Belinda Vernon
Maritime New Zealand © 2019

Belinda Vernon

Belinda is an Auckland-based consultant with a background in accounting, shipping and conservation. She has worked in senior accounting and management roles in the shipping industry in New Zealand for Tasman Express Line Ltd and McKay Shipping Ltd. Her initial shipping experience was gained with Ellerman City Liners in London.

Belinda was a Member of Parliament from 1996 - 2002. She is a chartered member of the Institute of Directors and chair and trustee of the Auckland Philharmonia Foundation.

She recently completed a 10-year term as a trustee of the Motutapu Restoration Trust.

Belinda was appointed to the Maritime NZ Authority in May 2013, and was appointed Interim Chair in 4 August 2018.

Kylie Boyd
Kylie Boyd
Sharp Tudhope ©2019

Kylie Boyd

Kylie is a Partner at Tauranga law firm Sharp Tudhope. She has more than 13 years’ experience dealing with entities across a range of sectors, with particular expertise in the manufacturing, exporting, logistics and horticulture industries. She advises on a range of corporate and commercial matters, including commercial contracts, company compliance, financing, entity structures, capital raising and sales and acquisitions.

Kylie is a Chartered Member of the Institute of Directors and a Chartered Member of the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Freight.

Other governance roles include directorships with Craigs Investment Partners Superannuation Management Limited, Custodial Services Limited and Priority One – Western Bay of Plenty Incorporated. She also sits on the Executive Committee of Export NZ Bay of Plenty.

Kylie was appointed to the Maritime NZ Authority in January 2017.

Janice Fredric
Janice Fredric
Maritime New Zealand ©2019

Janice Fredric

Janice is a professional director with a broad portfolio of current and past directorships, extensive executive experience and a chartered accountant.

Janice has worked in a wide range of industry sectors and sizes, both in New Zealand and internationally.

She is a member of the Institute of Directors, a Fellow of the NZ Institute of Management South and a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants.

Janice was appointed to the Maritime NZ Authority in March 2016.

Meet our Director

Related information:

Annual reports

The annual report provides an overview of MNZ’s organisational performance.
Read more

Statement of Intent

The Statement of Intent outlines MNZ’s strategic goals and work it will undertake.
Read more
Statement of Performance Expectations

The Statement of Performance Expectations sets out the programme of work for MNZ during the current financial year.

Read more