New Board members join Maritime NZ

29 November 2022

Maritime NZ has this week welcomed Lesley Haines and Mike Purchase to its governance board, and Annabel Davies as a Future Director.

The incoming board members were appointed by the Associate Minister of Transport Kieran McAnulty on 7 November 2022 and Annabel was appointed directly by the Maritime NZ Board.

Maritime NZ Board Chair Jo Brosnahan says the new appointees will bring significant experience and expertise across a wide range of industries to their roles.

“We are lucky to bring in new board members with a wide range of skills, who will add to the diverse group we currently have, shaping the future of Maritime NZ.

Maintaining a well-rounded governance board is always the priority when bringing in new directors. When you look at the newly appointed trio, they come from a diverse background, and will all be offering unique perspectives for the strategic future of Maritime NZ and the maritime sector,” Ms Brosnahan says.

Lesley Haines is bringing significant public administration experience, holding previous senior public service roles as Deputy CE at the Ministry of Business Innovation and Employment and the Department of Labour. Lesley has also worked for the Treasury, Land Information New Zealand and the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet.

She lives in Wellington and currently sits on the board of BRANZ and is a trustee at Motu. She holds a Master of Economics from the Australian National University and brings a deep understanding of the public sector and of the regulatory environment.

Mike Purchase has a wide range of experience, from former President of Coastguard, to over 30 years in the telecommunications industry where he is currently Head of Corporate at Vodafone. Mike is excited to be joining the Board of Maritime NZ, a role which combines several of his passions; strong governance, recreational boating and search and rescue. One of his key achievements at Coastguard was leading the merger of Coastguard’s national body and its four regions into one national entity.

Annabel Davies comes onto the Board as a Future Director. This is the first time Maritime NZ has engaged a Future Director and the Board is looking forward to having Annabel join it in this role. Annabel is the Chief Sustainability and Risk Officer for Pamu, with a strong history across water and wastewater, infrastructure, energy, and the private sector. Annabel has a keen interest in risk and environmental projects, which she will bring to the table at Maritime NZ.

“With these contributions, I’m confident our Board will provide valuable guidance and strategic direction as we work to address the key challenges currently faced by the Maritime industry,” Ms Brosnahan says.

The three new appointees replace Belinda Vernon and Denis O’Rourke.

“I also want to take this opportunity to thank the fantastic work done by Belinda and Denis who have now finished up with the Board. Belinda served for more than a decade as a Board member, including as an invaluable Deputy Chair, Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee and Acting Chair of the Board.  Denis has been a valued member of the Board, providing wisdom and context. Both provided great service and I value the input they have provided over their terms,” Ms Brosnahan says.

Follow us News feed

Call the MNZ media line