Extended ‘No Excuses’ campaign begins

19 October 2018

Today, Maritime NZ, 13 councils and the Lake Taupo Harbourmaster are starting an extended “No Excuses” campaign for recreational boaties not carrying or wearing lifejackets and those who speed on the water.

Maritime NZ Deputy Director, Sharyn Forsyth, said the campaign is starting in Southland this year, with Environment Southland Harbourmaster’s staff and Maritime NZ Maritime Officers on the water together during the Te Anau Fishing Contest today. Other councils and Lake Taupo will be joining in between now and March.

Councils will take action against boaties who break lifejacket and speed rules. This will include infringement notices of up to $300, depending on each area’s bylaws.

“No Excuses” began in the summer of 2016 with Maritime NZ and eight councils. Last summer 10 councils chose to join in, and this year this has increased to 14 (including Lake Taupo, whose Harbourmaster is employed by the Department of Internal Affairs). The period of the campaign has also been extended, starting two months earlier than previous years. It will still continue to March.

The Maritime Transport Act and council bylaws require carrying and wearing lifejackets. The five knot rule is in place within 200 metres of shore and divers, and within 50 metres of swimmers and other boats.

The “No Excuses” campaign will be run for five days by each of the councils and on Lake Taupo at different times between today and 31 March 2019.

Each Harbourmaster will be letting boaties know in their communities that enforcement action will happen sometime during summer. The specific days will not be publicised.

Harbourmasters are providing additional staff, time and resources to the campaign, on top of the safer boating work they already do. During the campaign Harbourmasters’ staff and Maritime NZ’s Maritime Officers will be on the water working together. Maritime NZ has made funding available to Harbourmasters.

“Up to two-thirds of recreational boaties who died might have been saved if they wore lifejackets,” Ms Forsyth said

“Boaties speeding in busy areas is dangerous and can injure children, swimmers, divers and people in small craft.

“Our expectation is that safe boaties follow the rules each and every time they go on the water. There are no excuses for breaking the rules and causing risk to yourself and others.” Local authorities taking part are :

Local authority Contact
Auckland Transport Operations Manager, Marc Davis
021 576 292, Marc.davis@at.govt.nz
Waikato Regional Council Harbourmaster, Chris Bredenbeck
027 677 2107, chris.bredenbeck@waikatoregion.govt.nz
Bay of Plenty Regional Council Harbourmaster, Peter Buell
027 519 3559, peter.buell@boprc.govt.nz
Taranaki Regional Council Harbourmaster, Tony Parr
027 544 6912, tony_parr@hotmail.com
Department of Internal Affairs (Lake Taupo) Harbourmaster, Heath Cairns
021 850 823, heath.cairns@dia.govt.nz
Hawkes Bay Regional Council Harbourmaster, Martine Moore
027 445 5592, harbourmaster@hbrc.govt.nz
Greater Wellington Regional Council Harbourmaster, Grant Nalder
027 451 6156, harbours@gw.govt.nz
Tasman District Council Harbourmaster, Dan Cairney
03 543 8400, dan.cairney@tasman.govt.nz
Nelson City Council Manager Consents and Compliance, Mandy Bishop
03 545 8740 mandy.bishop@ncc.govt.nz
Marlborough District Council Deputy Harbourmaster, Jan Eveleens
03 520 7400, jan.eveleens@marlborough.govt.nz
Environment Canterbury Navigation Safety Officer, Gary Manch
0800 32 46 36,Gary.Manch@ecan.govt.nz
Queenstown Lakes District Council Harbourmaster, Marty Black
03 442 3445, marty.black@smsl.co.nz
Otago Regional Council Harbourmaster, Steve Rushbrook
027 583 5196, steve.rushbrook@orc.govt.nz
Environment Southland Deputy Harbourmaster, Ian Coard
03 211 5115, ian.coard@es.govt.nz

 

All media releases

Subscribe Follow us News feed

Call the MNZ media line

Media centre

Additional information for media.
Media centre

Media archive

View our historic media releases.

Media archive